Big Walls in Chicago

I started spotting some interesting murals while riding the El train from the airport going into downtown Chicago’s Loop.

 

hebru-brantley

Chi Boy by Hebru Brantley

 

The next day as we stopped for coffee, I glimpsed Chi Boy peeking out from a parking lot and the hunt was on! My nephew humored me by patiently wandering the neighborhood with me while I snapped photos.

 

 

Harmony by Ben Eine flanked by Moose Bubblegum Bubble by Jacob Watts

Harmony by Ben Eine flanked by Moose Bubblegum Bubble by Jacob Watts

 

 

The Wabash Arts Corridor made a big splash with its Big Walls project this year. Commissioning works from both local and international artists, Big Walls contains 20 large scale murals along the corridor. On our walk, Max and I managed to find almost all of the murals on our own plus a few that aren’t part of this project. (click on any photo to see a full size slide show)

 

 

 

 

 

If you are in Chicago, check out the 2016 WAC Crawl on October 21st – a night filled with art, music, dancing, film and food!

 

Keep your eyes up and enjoy the view!

 

Looking for more Chicago art? Check out my other posts Cycle Art Tour – Chicago’s Bronzeville Neighborhood and Water’s Edge

 

