iPhriday & Weekly Photo Challenge: Water’s Edge

For this week’s iPhriday I am using the Weekly Photo Challenge subject of Edge.

Riding my bike along the water’s edge in Chicago I came across Destino (2003) by Mark di Suvero, one of my favorite public artists. This piece is one of the EXPO Chicago In/Situ Outside artworks which are temporarily placed outdoors throughout the city.

What draws me to di Suvero sculptures is both their large scale and the industrial materials he uses. Created from steel I-beams and metal plates, works are painted a specific reddish/orange color or are left raw so they rust into a nice patina over the years.

The artist also incorporates movement into some sculptures which isn’t always obvious upon first glance. The large V-shaped I-beam at the top rotates with the breezes coming off the lake.

 

destino-distance

Along the water’s edge in Chicago – Destino (2003)

 

destino-midrange-full

The V moves with the wind off Lake Michigan

 

 

destino-detail

Metal plates are cut into geometric shapes

 

destino-detail-sailboat

An edge in the foreground, a sail in the background

 

Take a peek at some of my other di Suvero photos in my post Travel Theme: Tangle.

 

 

Thanks to graydaysandcoffee for creating iPhriday showcasing phone photos.

 

 

 

 

 

 

