iPhriday – A Shadowy Mission

En route to Los Angeles, a visit to Tucson included a stop at Tumacacori National Historical Park. The mission has an interesting history starting with its founding by Father Eusebio Francisco Kino, a famed missionary and explorer. The buildings are being preserved versus restored so it retains a rustic feel.

The park hosts various programs including Art in the Park (tomorrow!), Full Moon Nights and Starry Saturdays, and Kino Legacy Days. My favorite has to be the Family Overnights. Our local friends in Tucson have taken night photography classes with stunning results. Located south of Tucson near Tubac the night sky has even less light pollution. The stars at night rival those of Texas! (Heresy, I know.)

The shadows were dominating the afternoon so I decided to focus on them for iPhriday this week. What I am calling A Shadowy Mission.

Name

Full Church

Chapel

Graveyard

 

Tree Wall 1

Tree Wall 2

iPhriday is hosted by graydaysandcoffee – a weekly showcase of camera phone photography. I only use my camera phone so I’m glad of the challenge to really explore it’s capabilities and improve my photography skills. My goal is to better showcase all the wonderful places along our travels.

 

 

