Should I lose the boots?

It’s time to get mobile again.

We’ve been in LA longer than anticipated and with that nesting comes the accumulation of ‘stuff’.

Some good stuff, some replacement stuff, some disposable stuff, but in the end all that stuff has to be stuffed back into our Honda Element. You’d think downsizing would get easier for us at some point.

With three weeks to go, I started by evaluating my wardrobe.

And I got stuck by my boots. My snow boots.  For some reason, I am clinging onto snow boots.

I bought them three years ago for our trip to Iceland. A super fun trip filled with adventures like:

Wandering along the Harbour

Exploring our Reykjavik neighborhood

Our apartment was just behind the Fríkirkjan í Reykjavík (Free Church in Reykjavik)

Our apartment was just behind the Fríkirkjan í Reykjavík (Free Church in Reykjavik)

Tjörnin (The Pond) is a centerpiece of Reykjavik.

Tjörnin (The Pond) is a centerpiece of Reykjavik.

Marveling at Frozen Waterfalls

Gullfoss translates to Golden Falls

Gullfoss translates to Golden Falls

Snowmobiling on a Glacier

It was pretty much a white out that day but my feet were warm

It was pretty much a white out that day but my feet were warm

Exploding in the New Year

(it was WAY beyond Ringing)

New Year's Eve explodes over Reykjavik from Church of Hallgrímur

New Year’s Eve explodes over Reykjavik from Church of Hallgrímur

Dancing with the Natives

Perlan is water tanks turned into destination with restaurants, indoor garden and art

Perlan is municipal water tanks turned into a destination with restaurants, observation deck, indoor garden and public art

Finding the Original Geysir

Geysir is an Icelandic word

Geysir is an Icelandic word

I could leave them with family. They wouldn’t mind. I know I’ll want boots again someday. It’s the insidious nature of having free storage. The baggage begins to accumulate.

In my mind the boots hold forth the potential for new adventures just as they have for the past two winters.

 

Do I lose the boots?

Do I lose the boots?

 

Winters without snow. Winters someone else could have had warm and toasty feet… in the snow.

I think I’ve just answered my own question.

 

 

