Street Art – Austin

Thanks to Samatha at fictionwriterwithablog  for nominating me to do the Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge. This is Day 1.

 

The Squirrel of Truth by Mike Johnston

What I have named “The Nerdy Squirrel of Truth” by Mike Johnston on a street art canvas / retaining wall in Austin, Texas

 

Mike Johnston is by far my favorite street artist in Austin. His work has a whimsical feel to it and the identifying clue is the word “truth” always appearing somewhere in the work. Our last apartment in Austin was next to a retaining wall where Mike’s work would often appear. Amongst my friends, the first spotter had naming rights. Gleeful texts would be sent with every “Jellyfish of Truth” or “Taco of Truth” that manifested itself.

Mike Johnston’s website tagline is “Paintings, murals and street art that give inspiration and joy.” For us, his street art definitely succeeded!

 

A mural that I titled - The Awesomeness of Truth

A mural that I titled – The Awesomeness of Truth

 

Raccoon detail from what I call - The Awesomeness of Truth

Raccoon detail from what I call – The Awesomeness of Truth

King Raccoon detail from what I call - The Awesomeness of Truth

King Raccoon detail from what I call – The Awesomeness of Truth

 

The Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge rules require you to post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or simply a short paragraph – it’s entirely up to you. (I am choosing to add extra photos on some of the posts…)

Then each day, nominate another blogger to carry on this challenge. Today I am nominating Tena, the namesake of the blog Tena Laing in hopes of seeing more of her SXSW adventures.

Accepting the challenge is entirely up to the person nominated, it is not a command.

 

