My 5 Essential Kitchen Tools for Life on the Road

Experiencing new foods is one of the great joys that travel brings but there are times when you just want something familiar.

Don’t get me wrong, I love eating in restaurants and my perfect day includes an outdoor cafe.

It’s when I’m a bit road weary that a simple bowl of cereal and a cup of coffee for breakfast can soothe and rejuvenate me like the best of comfort foods.

Today’s writing prompt is deciding 5 foods you would bring to a private island. I’m going to change it up a bit to talk about the top 5 kitchen tools we carry with us as we travel.

Our first choice for accommodation is an apartment or house. We love to stay in residential neighborhoods to get a feel for life in each city we visit. That means that every kitchen is also a new adventure in and of itself.

A few key items have made all the difference for being able to cook our own meal and help keep our food costs down. When traveling in the States, we pack a small box of kitchen items and our favorite foods.

My 5 Essential Kitchen Tools for Life on the Road:

  1. Coffee Mug
  2. Collapsible Bowl / Silverware Set
  3. Covered Microwave Dish
  4. Knife with Cutting Mat
  5. Frying Pans and Spatula

 

 

Coffee Mug

My Favorite Mug

My Favorite Mug

I can’t abide small mugs – I should mention that I like coffee. A lot. And this mug has consistently been at the top of the list for must have items plus it’s sturdy enough to take some abuse.

 

 

Collapsible Bowl and Silverware

The bowl collapses and the utensils are lightweight

The bowl collapses and the utensils are lightweight

This is a new addition we bought for our spring trip to Europe. A month with just a carry-on bag required some judicious packing and thought to keep spending in check. I upgraded to the titanium silverware to shave off that micro weight after convincing myself that we could use it for camping trips too. The bowl was great for dishing up takeout in that oh-so-rugged Zurich.

 

 

Covered Microwave Dish

A practical remnant from our house in Austin

A practical remnant from our house in Austin

Most hotels will have a small microwave so this allows for heating up canned items or oatmeal. Another sturdy item that stands up to our abuse.

 

 

Knife with Cutting Mat

My favorite knife for just about any cutting job

My favorite knife for just about any cutting job

Having my own mat just makes me feel like I’m cutting on a clean surface no matter where I am. This one multipurpose knife has been with us for years. I recently bought a cheap chef’s knife thinking I would use it now that we are cooking more. My first choice is always the serrated knife.

 

 

Frying Pans and Spatula

Nothing special here but we use them daily

Nothing special here but we use them daily

Not high end but they do great with scrambled eggs or frying up vegetables. Many kitchens come stocked with frying pans that are conveniently pre-scratched just to make food stick to every crevice. (Yuck.)

So there you have my list.  What would be your top 5?

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Five a Day.”

